Erik Miller Is King! – 2016 Nitto King Of The Hammers

by Shana Whitford on February 10, 2016

Erik Miller is King! - 2016 King of the Hammers

Photos by Friese Images

Celebrating it’s 10th annual off-road mayhem, the 2016 Nitto King of The Hammers (KOH) has staked it’s existence in the eye of every off-road enthusiast and has proven to be the absolute toughest one day off road race on the planet. Combining some good old fashion rock crawling with the pulsing power of desert racing across the dry rippled floors of Meads Lakebed located in Johnson Valley California. Never to be taken lightly, even KOH can crack the core of the savviest soul behind the wheel of an Ultra4 car.

Erik Miller - 2016 King of the Hammers

The 2016 King, Erik Miller

Congratulations to the returning King Erik Miller who takes home the scepter for a second time. This young man from Cumberland, Maryland, literally rocked the Hammers in his straight axle two-seater. Finishing the 176 miles of race course in 7hrs & 30 minutes, he secured the win in this year’s race. He also managed to win the love of his life’s hand in marriage as he proposed on stage in front of the cameras. A “double” win for Mr. Miller.

Jason Scherer - 2016 King of the Hammers

Jason Scherer on his way to a 2nd place finish

Jason Scherer set the poll again which makes it his third time qualifing first at KOH. Jason won KOH in 2009 in a completely different car. Competing this year in his Fishmouth Fabworks built single seater, he was happy with the car’s overall performance during the race finishing with a time of 7 hours & 55 minutes. “The car was amazing and I wouldn’t change a thing now that we know the fans need better ventilation to keep them from working too hard. Can’t wait for next year to try and get the scepter for our amazing team.” Now Jason, don’t you mean your “awesome” team?

Raul Gomez - 2016 King of the Hammers

3rd place finisher Raul Gomez

A new name on the podium this year, Raul Gomez from Placerville California, completed the race in 8 hours & 23 minutes bringing home bragging rights, and a third place trophy. Back in 2013 and with only six hours of seat time, this rock crawling and four wheeling virgin tried his luck and chose KOH as his first race ever. Quickly enhancing his driving style and technique, this year he battled with some of the best. I asked Raul at what point during the race, did he realize he was holding third place? “I was coming out of Spooners and my crew told me on the radio to hammer down because Bailey Campbell was about 15 seconds ahead of me on corrected time for third place, and Shannon Campbell was hot on my tail.”

Shannon Campbell - 2016 King of the Hammers

4th place finisher Shannon Campbell

Cody Waggoner - 2016 King of the Hammers

Cody Waggoner in the 700hp Armada Engineering Lasernut car

Every town has its gossip. Like a bunch of housewives gathering in the driveway over a glass of pink lemonade, Hammertown was impatiently awaiting for the arrival of the new lady… Cody Waggoner’s Armada engineered misstress. Without a doubt, Cody is bringing sexy back to Ultra4. “If I was going to be up with the top guys I knew I needed to build a car that was comfortable to drive and controllable to get me to that level.” Thats when the owner of Lasernut teamed up with Armada Engineering and brought to you a 700hp 4wheel independent suspension rock buggy.

Randy Slawson - 2016 King of the Hammers

2 time King, Axial Racing driver Randy Slawson finished in 8th place

Andrew McLaughlin - 2016 King of the Hammers

Andrew McLaughlin puts on a show during qualifying

King of The Hammers, to go or not to go? It shouldn’t be a question…

For the best in RC vehicles visit Axial Racing.

Click here to see the vintage rides of KOH 2016 part 1.

1. Erik Miller–7:30:55
2. Jason Scherer–7:55:32
3. Raul Gomez–8:23:57
4. Shannon Campbell–8:26:18
5. Bailey Campbell–8:45:18
6. Jason Shipman–8:49:15
7. Brian Caprara–9:09:41
8. Randy Slawson–9:22:48
9. Macy Higgins–10:49:52
10. Smith/Webb–10:56:11
11. Clay Gilstrap–11:22:54
12. Eric Miramon–11:24:34
13. Rob MacCachren–11:27:02
14. Travis Cook–11:33:04
15. Wayland Campbell–11:33:26
Rob MacCachren - 2016 King of the Hammers
Bailey Campbell - 2016 King of the Hammers
Gary Farravanti Sr. - 2016 King of the Hammers
Tony Pellegrino - 2016 King of the Hammers
Cody Waggoner - 2016 King of the Hammers
Clay Gilstrap - 2016 King of the Hammers
Rob MacCachren - 2016 King of the Hammers
Erik Miller - 2016 King of the Hammers
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: